الشعوب الأصلية

الدائرة الاستشارية

تدور الدائرة الاستشارية للسكان الأصليين حول خلق مساحة لتطوير فهم أعمق للسياق التاريخي والثقافي والتأثيرات المستمرة للاستعمار.

الدائرة

النهج الجديد المنشود

الدائرة هي النهج الجديد المطلوب wilل تؤثر على كيفية Waterlution يمكن أن تتعايش في العالم، وتعميق فهم أن جميع الكائنات الحية مترابطة. تدور الدائرة الاستشارية للسكان الأصليين حول خلق مساحة لتطوير فهم أعمق للسياق التاريخي والثقافي والتأثيرات المستمرة للاستعمار. هذه العملية wilأتأكد من دمج تعاليم السكان الأصليين والمعرفة المشتركة في الأدوات والموارد المستخدمة في برامج المنظمة ومشاريعها، ولضمان حصول الموظفين والمتطوعين وأعضاء مجلس الإدارة على الأدوات وفهم المعرفة التقليدية حتى نتمكن جميعًا من العمل نحو تحقيق ذلك. مصالحة.

التنمية المشتركة

Waterlution لقد تعلم جنبًا إلى جنب مع أعضاء الدائرة الاستشارية للسكان الأصليين لبدء بروتوكولات مشاركة السكان الأصليين وخطط الاتصال وخطة العمل والمشاركة في تطويرها.

هدفنا

هدفنا هو تعميق العلاقات المجتمعية مع السكان الأصليين بشكل مستمر من خلال تنفيذ بروتوكولات مشاركة السكان الأصليين وخطط الاتصال والتخطيط التي أرشدها أعضاء الدائرة وشاركوا في تطويرها. wilسيتم تضمينها باستمرار في جميع جوانب Waterlution المشاريع والبرامج.

مستشارو دائرة السكان الأصليين

أنجيلا ديمونتيني

أنجيلا ديمونتيني حائزة على جوائز، مصممة أزياء وفنانة ورائدة أعمال ومرشدة لتراث الكري/ميتيس. ولدت DeMontigny ونشأت على الساحل الغربي من كولومبيا البريطانية على الرغم من أن جذور عائلتها ترجع إلى مستوطنة النهر الأحمر في منطقة المعاهدة 1 في مانيتوبا وساسكاتشوان وداكوتا الشمالية. 

كانت أنجيلا رائدة في مجال الأزياء الفاخرة للسكان الأصليين لأكثر من عقدين من الزمن تحت علامتها التجارية "DeMontigny". من خلال ابتكار أزياءها وإكسسواراتها ونمط الحياة والصحة الجميلة والأصيلة (LODGE Soy Candles)، ساعدت في شق طريق للأزياء الأصلية على المستوى الوطني والدولي. إنها تستعيد هويتها كامرأة من السكان الأصليين وتكرم أسلافها من خلال دمج ثقافتها في تصميماتها وفنها مع الاستفادة من مواهبها كمصممة ورائدة أعمال. 

حصلت أنجيلا، وهي أيضًا فنانة بارعة، على جائزة فنية عامة كبرى في عام 2020 لمنحوتتها الرائدة "كل علاقاتنا" التي تم تركيبها على الواجهة البحرية لهاميلتون في 30 سبتمبر 2023 - اليوم الوطني للحقيقة والمصالحة. جمع هذا الحفل الجميل مجتمع السكان الأصليين ومجتمع هاميلتون لتكريم الناجين من المدارس الداخلية، والأطفال الذين لم يعودوا إلى المنزل مطلقًا، وللاحتفال بالمصالحة على أرض الواقع. إنها سعيدة للغاية لأنها تمكنت من المشاركة في إنشاء إرث فني عام تشتد الحاجة إليه للمدينة wilسأكون أيضًا مكانًا مخصصًا لتجمع مجتمع السكان الأصليين في المناطق الحضرية. وتهدف الخطط المستقبلية إلى مواصلة تطوير عنصر التعليم مع البرمجة للشباب والسياحة. 

https://hamiltoncitymagazine.ca/waterfront-art-is-a-soaring-thoughtful-ode-to-indigenous-ways-of-thinking/

جاي هافينز

موهوك بير كلان، الأمم الستة

جاي هافينز هو فنان متعدد الوسائط 2Spirit، ومعلم، ومتعاون مع Kanien'keha:ka (Haudenosaunee) والأصل الكندي الاسكتلندي. وُلدت هافينز على أراضٍ تُعرف باسم منطقة هالديماند ونشأت في أراضي Unceded Sto:lo وMusqueam بالقرب من فانكوفر، كندا.

إنهم مصممو سينوغرافيون يتمتعون بخبرة في الأداء والتركيب الخاص بالموقع، والجداريات، والإسقاط، والأعمال الفنية متعددة الوسائط للمعارض والمتاحف والأماكن العامة. تتضمن ممارسة هافنز إعادة تعلم طرق أونكويهون: نحن (الشعوب الأصلية) وركزت أبحاثهم على الأساليب الأصلية لبناء المعرفة المطبقة على العمليات الإبداعية واللوجستية للسينوغرافيا. جاي حاصل على بكالوريوس الفنون الجميلة من جامعة كولومبيا البريطانية، قسم المسرح والسينما والكتابة الإبداعية ودرجة الماجستير في الفنون الجميلة من جامعة إميلي كار للفنون والتصميم. تشمل أبرز إنجازات مشروعهم المهني الذي دام 19 عامًا، رسم خرائط الإسقاط لمبنى Haudenosaunee الطويل في قاعة مدينة ستراتفورد، وعمل فني عائم في ميناء تورونتو يسمى The Peacemaker's Canoe ولوحة جدارية على نوافذ دار الأوبرا في فانكوفر. يمكن العثور على العديد من نسج جاي النحتية في المجموعات الموجودة في متحف ولاية نيويورك وهو يقوم حاليًا بتصميم أعمال فنية عامة للمواقع في جميع أنحاء جنوب أونتاريو. يمكن أيضًا العثور على جاي يتعاون في تصميم مجموعات وأزياء لشركات المسرح الاحترافية مثل Caravan Farm أو Centaur أو Axis Theatre وهو متحمس للانضمام إلى جامعة واترلو، قسم فنون الاتصال في يناير 2023 كأستاذ مساعد لتدريس السينوغرافيا والتفكير التصميمي. الدورات. هافينز عضو في المصممين المرتبطين بكندا (IATSE 659) وCARFAC. إنه مواطن فخور من الموهوك، Bear Clan من Six Nations of the Grand River.

كاوينكون بوني ويتلو ماجستير

واكسكاري: استيقظ يا بير كلان
Kanyen'kehaka niwakonhwentsyo:عشرة،
أمة الموهوك
Ohswe:ken Nitewake:non، الأمم الستة للنهر الكبير
كانيهستينهسيرا، الأم
Rawennahatyes ronwa:yats ne riyen:'a، من Rawennahatyes

تعمل Kawennakon على تنشيط الممارسات الثقافية والتواصل مع احتفالات الأجداد الروحية والرقصات والأغاني التقليدية منذ أوائل العشرينات من عمرها. وهي متحدثة باللغة الثانية في Kanyen'keha وكانت تتعلم وتعلم وتدافع عن تنشيط لغة الأجداد منذ أوائل الثلاثينيات من عمرها. إنها باحثة، ومؤلفة، ومحاضرة، ومنظم مجتمعي، وراكبة وحدة، وعداءة وحدة، ورحالة، وناشطة، وفنانة وممثلة (من بين أشياء أخرى). وهي أيضًا ابنة Arlene "Jiggy" Hill، Rastawenserenhtha Bear Clan.

ايلي جوزيف

أنا من قبيلة الموهوك، عشيرة السلحفاة، ولدت ونشأت وما زلت أعيش في محمية الأمم الستة على طول ضفاف النهر الكبير. لقد تقاعدت من سبعة وثلاثين عامًا كمدرس في المدارس الابتدائية في نظام المدارس العامة لدينا منذ سنوات عديدة، ولكني لا أزال متطوعًا نشطًا في مجال التعليم.

بعد المشاركة في حملة تجديد الصفين التي استمرت ستة عشر يوما من ألباني إلى مانهاتن، نيويورك، على نهر هدسون في عام 2013، كنت واحدا من أربعة مشاركين أسسوا ما يعرف الآن باسم "صفين على الجراند". تجمع رحلة التجديف هذه التي تستغرق عشرة أيام، من كامبريدج إلى بارت ميتلاند، مجتمع الأمم الستة لدينا مع المشاركين الحلفاء. يتم تقديم التعاليم الثقافية على طول الطريق، مما يشجع العلاقات والصلات الصحية مع أمنا الأرض.

ومن خلال عملنا كلجنة تطوعية شعبية، فقد شهدنا مشاركة هذا المشروع بأكثر من الضعف خلال السنوات الثماني من وجوده. الخطط جارية بالفعل للصف الثاني التالي في فندق Grand. لمزيد من المعلومات، www.tworowonthegrand.com

Indigenous

Advisory Circle

The Indigenous Advisory Circle is about creating space to develop a deeper understanding of the historical and cultural context and ongoing impacts of colonization.

The Circle

The New Desired Approach

The circle is a desired new approach that will influence how Waterlution can co-exist in the world, and deepen understanding that all living things are connected. The Indigenous Advisory Circle is about creating space to develop a deeper understanding of the historical and cultural context and ongoing impacts of colonization. This process will ensure that Indigenous teachings and shared knowledge are integrated into the tools and resources used in the programming and projects of the organization, and to ensure staff, volunteers and board members have the tools and understanding of traditional knowledge in order that we may all work towards reconciliation.

Co-development

Waterlution has been learning alongside the Indigenous Advisory Circle members to initiate and co-develop Indigenous engagement protocols, communication plans, and an action plan.

Our Goal

Our goal is to continuously deepen community relationships with Indigenous Peopled through by actioning the Indigenous engagement protocols, communication plans, and planning that the Circle members have guided and co-developed and will be continually included across all aspects of Waterlution projects and programs.

Indigenous Circle Advisors

Angela DeMontigny

Angela DeMontigny is an award winning, fashion designer, artist, entrepreneur and mentor of Cree/Métis heritage. DeMontigny was born and raised on the west coast of B.C. although her family roots are the Red River Settlement in Treaty 1 territory in Manitoba, Saskatchewan and North Dakota. 

Angela has been a trailblazer of Indigenous Luxury fashion for over 2 decades under her label ‘DeMontigny’. Through the creation of her beautiful, authentic fashion, accessories, lifestyle & wellness products (LODGE Soy Candles), she has helped to carve a path for Indigenous fashion nationally and internationally. She is reclaiming her identity as an indigenous woman and honouring her ancestors by incorporating her culture into her designs and art while utilizing her gifts as a designer and entrepreneur. 

Also an accomplished artist, Angela was awarded a major public art commission in 2020 for her groundbreaking ‘All Our Relations’ sculpture that was installed on Hamilton’s waterfront on Sept. 30, 2023 – the National day for Truth and Reconciliation. This beautiful ceremony brought together the Indigenous and Hamilton community to honour residential school survivors, the children who never made it home and to celebrate reconciliation in action. She is ecstatic to have been able to co-create a much needed, public art legacy for the City which will also be a designated space for the urban Indigenous community to gather. Future plans are to further develop an education component with programming for youth and tourism. 

https://hamiltoncitymagazine.ca/waterfront-art-is-a-soaring-thoughtful-ode-to-indigenous-ways-of-thinking/

Jay Havens

Mohawk Bear Clan, Six Nations

Jay Havens is a multi-media 2Spirit artist, educator, and collaborator of Kanien’keha:ka (Haudenosaunee) and Scottish Canadian ancestry. Havens was born on lands known as the Haldimand Tract and raised on Unceded Sto:lo and Musqueam lands close to Vancouver, Canada.

They are a scenographer with experience in site-specific performance and installation, murals, projection and mixed media artworks for galleries, museums, and public spaces. Havens’ practice embraces re-learning the ways of Onkwehon:we (original peoples) and their research has focused on Indigenous Methods of Knowledge-building applied to creative and logistical processes of scenography. Jay has a BFA from the University of British Columbia, Department of Theatre, Film and Creative Writing and MFA from Emily Carr University of Art + Design. Over their 19-year career project highlights include projection mapping a Haudenosaunee longhouse on Stratford City Hall, a floating artwork in the Toronto harbour called The Peacemaker’s Canoe and a mural on the windows of the Vancouver Opera house. Several of Jay’s sculptural weavings can be found in the collections at the New York State Museum and he is currently designing public artworks for sites throughout Southern Ontario. Jay can also be found collaborating to design sets and costumes for professional stage companies such as Caravan Farm, Centaur or Axis Theatre and is excited to be joining the University of Waterloo, Department of Communication Arts in January 2023 as Assistant Professor teaching scenography and design thinking courses. Havens is a member of The Associated Designers of Canada (IATSE 659) and CARFAC. He is a proud citizen of the Mohawk, Bear Clan from Six Nations of the Grand River.

Kawennakon Bonnie Whitlow M.A.

Wakskare:wake, Bear Clan
Kanyen’kehaka niwakonhwentsyo:ten,
Mohawk Nation
Ohswe:ken Nitewake:non, Six Nations of the Grand River
Ka’nihstenhsera, Mother
Rawennahatyes ronwa:yats ne riyen:’a, of Rawennahatyes

Kawennakon has been revitalizing cultural practices and connecting to ancestral spiritual ceremonies, traditional dances and songs since her early 20s.  She is a Second Language speaker of Kanyen’keha and has been learning, teaching and advocating for ancestral language revitalization since her early 30s.  She is a scholar, an author, a lecturer, a community organizer, a unity rider, a unity runner, a journeyer, an activist, an artist and an actress (amongst other things). She is also the daughter of Arlene “Jiggy” Hill, Rastawenserenhtha Bear Clan.

Ellie Joseph

I am of the Mohawk Nation, Turtle Clan, born, raised, and still living on the Six Nations Reserve along the banks of the Grand River. I retired from a thirty-seven year tenure as a classroom teacher of the Elementary schools in our public school system many years ago, but remain an active volunteer in the education field.

After participating on the sixteen-day Two Row Renewal Campaign from Albany to Manhattan, NY, on the Hudson River in 2013, I was one of four participants who established what is now known as “Two Row on the Grand.” This ten-day paddle excursion, from Cambridge to Part Maitland, brings our Six Nations community together with ally participants. Cultural teachings are presented along the way, encouraging healthy relationships and connections to Mother Earth.

Functioning as a grassroots volunteer committee, we have watched this project’s participation more than double in size in its eight years of existence. Plans are already underway for the next Two Row on the Grand. For more information, www.tworowonthegrand.com