حملات التبرع

ناعورة

المشروع: عجلة الماء
ArtistL Gina McIntee Wood والصلب وطلاء الأكريليك 2020
موقع التركيب: مدرسة دنفيل الثانوية

وُلدت من ورشة الأخشاب لفصل تكنولوجيا هندسة البناء في مدرسة دنفيل الثانوية (DSS) ، والآن تم تركيب ووتر ويل ، وهو تمثال كبير متحرك يحتفل بصلاتنا بالممرات المائية المحلية ، في DSS حيث wilأواصل سرد قصتها.

قال ريجان فانكيربروك ، مدير مدرسة دنفيل الثانوية: "كان هذا هو المشروع الثالث الذي عملت عليه مدرسة دنفيل الثانوية مع شركة Great Art for Great Lakes ، وهي منظمة وفرت للطلاب اتصالات مباشرة بمجتمع الفنون المهنية". "لقد حث هذا المشروع بالتحديد الطلاب على النظر إلى أهمية صحة المياه وكيف تطور فهمنا لعلاقتنا بها بمرور الوقت ومن خلال عدسة الثقافات الأخرى."

في الشتاء الماضي ، قبل إغلاق Covid-19 ، رحبت المدرسة بالزوار بما في ذلك فنانة Dunnville Gina Mcintee ، الفنانة الرئيسية في المشروع ، والمتعاونة Lynda Henriksen ، وهي Water Walker - جزء من مبادرة Anishinaabe المخصصة لزيادة الوعي حول أهمية الماء وضرورة حمايته. خلال تجمع على مستوى المدرسة ، أظهر Henriksen نزهة مائية لمشاركة التقاليد والحكمة التي سيتم تضمينها في العمل الفني النهائي.

وأشار Henriksen خلال التجمع الذي عقد في نهاية فبراير: "ما يحدث لصحة مياهنا له عواقب بعيدة المدى علينا جميعًا". "نحن نأتي من الماء ، وتتكون أجسادنا إلى حد كبير من الماء ، ولهذا السبب فإننا نتحمل المسؤولية تجاهها".

كانت تلك هي الرؤية الفنية للقطعة ، وساعدت معارف ومهارات طلاب دنفيل على إعادة الحياة إليها. كانت فئة تكنولوجيا البناء من الدرجة 12 مسؤولة عن البناء في الموقع لـ 28 مجدافًا أصبحت جزءًا من منحوتة تشبه طاحونة الهواء. بعد ذلك ، كان على المجاذيف أن تشق طريقها إلى مدارس Grand Erie الأخرى ومواقع Haldimand ليتم رسمها ، على الرغم من أن الوباء غير تلك الخطط قليلاً. ومع ذلك ، من خلال العمل ضمن قيود الصحة العامة ، تمكن ما يقرب من 300 من السكان المحليين من المشاركة بأمان في تزيين كل مجداف على مدار الأشهر العديدة الماضية ، بمساعدة برنامج True Experiences Support Supporting and Community Work ومجلس Haldimand-Norfolk لمحو الأمية. تم رسم كل مجداف بـ 13 قطعة تمثل ظهر السلحفاة ، وهو تذكير بدورات القمر الـ 13 في السنة التقويمية.

قال المعلم فيل كلاين ، الذي كان طلابه مسؤولين عن عناصر البناء: "عندما تقدم الفن إلى صفوف التكنولوجيا ، فإنه يفتح إمكانيات جديدة". "يرى الطلاب الروابط بالهندسة المعمارية والتصنيع وتصميم المنتج ، ويمكنهم تعيينهم على مسار جديد."

يرتبط المشروع بعدد من أولويات Grand Erie أيضًا ، ويلامس كل ركيزة من ركائزه خطة متعددة السنوات: إنه يجمع بين التكنولوجيا والإنجاز لإكمال العمل ، والذي يقدم بعد ذلك رسالة مهمة حول البيئة والرفاهية ، وكل ذلك أصبح ممكنًا بفضل مساهمات المجتمع.

 

تعمل العناصر السائلة للنحت النهائي الآن على نقل رسالة Water Walkers لجميع الذين يشاهدونها.

السيرة الذاتية للفنان:

جينا ماكينتي فنانة ومعلمة بصرية تقيم في دنفيل ، أونتاريو ، على طول النهر الكبير الجميل في مقاطعة هالديماند. من خلال فنها ، أنشأت شعارات تنظيمية وجوائز وجداريات مجتمعية وكتبًا مصورة. تُعرف باسم "رسامة مجتمع الرسوم المتحركة" ، وتتمتع بقدرة فريدة على "التقاط روح المجتمع وتقوية الروابط وربط الأفكار من خلال صوري". رسالتها هي الحب غير المشروط لنفسك ونشرها إلى الخارج في مجتمعك.

Project

Water Wheel

Project: Water Wheel
ArtistL Gina McIntee Wood, steel, acrylic paint 2020
Installation Site: Dunnville Secondary School

Born out of the woodshop of the Construction Engineering Technology class at Dunnville Secondary School (DSS), and now Water Wheel, a large, moving sculpture that celebrates our connections to local waterways, has been installed at DSS where it will continue to tell its story.

“This was the third project Dunnville Secondary School has worked on with Great Art for Great Lakes, an organization that has provided students with direct connections to the professional arts community,” said Regan Vankerrebroeck, Principal at Dunnville Secondary School. “This particular project has challenged students to look at the importance of water health and how our understanding of our relationship to it has evolved over time and through the lens of other cultures.”

Last winter, prior to the Covid-19 shutdown, the school welcomed visitors including Dunnville artist Gina Mcintee, the lead artist on the project, and collaborator Lynda Henriksen, who is a Water Walker – part of an Anishinaabe initiative dedicated to raising awareness about the importance of water and the need to protect it. During a school-wide assembly, Henriksen demonstrated a water walk to share the traditions and wisdom that would be embedded within the finished artwork.

“What happens to the health of our water has far-reaching consequences for all of us,” Henriksen pointed out during the assembly, which took place at the end of February. “We come from water, our bodies are made up largely of water, and because of this, we carry a responsibility to it.”

That was the artistic vision for the piece, and the knowledge and skillsets of Dunnville students helped bring it to life. The Grade 12 Construction Technology class was responsible for the onsite construction of 28 paddles that became part of the windmill-like sculpture. Then, the paddles were to make their way to other Grand Erie schools and Haldimand sites to be painted, though the pandemic altered those plans slightly. Working within public health restrictions, however, nearly 300 local residents were able to participate safely in decorating each paddle over the last several months, with the help of True Experiences Supportive Housing and Community Work Program and the Haldimand-Norfolk Literacy Council. Each paddle is painted with 13 segments representing a turtle’s back, a reminder of the 13 moon cycles in the calendar year.

“When you introduce art into technology classes, it opens up new possibilities,” said teacher Phil Cline, whose students were responsible for the construction elements. “Students see the connections to architecture, fabrication, and product design, and it can set them on a new path.”

The project connects to a number of Grand Erie priorities, too, touching each of the pillars of its Multi-Year Plan: it combines technology and achievement to complete the work, which then delivers an important message about environment and well-being, all made possible thanks to community contributions.

 

The final sculpture’s fluid elements now serve to impart the Water Walkers’ message for all who view it.

Artist bio:

Gina Mcintee is a visual artist and educator based in Dunnville, Ontario, along the beautiful Grand River in Haldimand County. Through her art, she has created organization logos, awards, community murals, and illustrated books. She is known as a “community animator”, with the unique ability to “capture the spirit of a community, strengthen connections and bridge ideas through my images.” Her message is of unconditional love for yourself and spreading it outward to your community.